Tag Archives: Sophie Ellis-Bextor

Nominees and special guests unveiled ahead of this Sunday’s 2024 EE BAFTA Film Awards.

  • Hannah Waddingham to deliver an exclusive live music performance, in addition to Sophie Ellis-Bextor who will perform her iconic hit ‘Murder on the Dancefloor’
  • Attendees and presenters announced today for the first time
  • Samantha Morton to receive BAFTA Fellowship
  • June Givanni to receive Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema Award
  • Ceremony to broadcast on BBC One and iPlayer from 19:00-21:00 (GMT) and globally in star-studded show hosted by David Tennant

LONDON – Tuesday 13 February: Today, BAFTA unveils the attending nominees and guest presenters for the 2024 EE BAFTA Film Awards this Sunday 18 February, for Britain’s biggest night of film. The EE BAFTAs will be hosted by David Tennant for the first time and will be broadcast on BBC One and iPlayer from 19:00-21:00 (GMT) and globally.

Emma Baehr, Executive Director of Awards & Content said: “It is a privilege to welcome so many nominees to the EE BAFTA Film Awards this Sunday, representing some of the best on-screen and behind-the-screen creative talent working in film today who have provided audiences worldwide with an incredible year of film. It is a joy to bring these 38 remarkable films and the teams that made them to public attention. With host David Tennant bringing his charm and charisma to the ceremony, and performances from Sophie Ellis-Bextor and Hannah Waddingham, it promises to be an entertaining show for all our nominees and guests at the Royal Festival Hall and the millions of people watching at home around the world.”


Nominees confirmed to date include (in alphabetical order)

Alex Fry, Alexander Payne, Alexandra Derbyshire, Amy Pascal, Andrew Haigh, Andrew Lowe, Annetta Marion, Arthur Harari, Ayo Edebiri, Barry Keoghan, Belén Atienza, Bradley Cooper, Carey Mulligan, Celine Song, Charles Roven, Charlotte Regan, Chris Smith, Christina Steinberg, Christine Vachon, Christopher Miller, Christopher Nolan, Christopher Sharp, Cillian Murphy, Claire Foy, Colman Domingo, Cord Jefferson, Damian Jones, Dan Friedkin, Daniel Lupi, David Hemingson, David Heyman, David Hinojosa, David Scarpa, David Thion, Da’Vine Joy Randolph, Davis Guggenheim, Denise Ream, Dominic Sessa, Ed Guiney, Ella Glendining, Emerald Fennell, Emily Blunt, Emily Leo, Emma Stone, Emma Thomas, Fantasia Barrino, Graham Broadbent, Greta Gerwig, Ivana MacKinnon, J.A. Bayona, James Wilson, Jana Edelbaum, Joaquim Dos Santos, Joedan Okun, John Battsek, Jonathan Glazer, Jonathan King, Josey McNamara, Josh Singer, Justin K. Thompson, Justine Triet, Kemp Powers, Ken Loach, Kevin J. Walsh, Konstantinos Kontovrakis, Lauren Domino, Lisa Selby, Madeleine Gavin, Margot Robbie, Marie-Ange Luciani, Mark Huffam, Mark Johnson, Matthew Heineman, Medb Riordan, Mia McKenna-Bruce, Michelle Mizner, Molly Manning Walker, Mstyslav Chernov, Nathan Bryon, Noah Baumbach, Pamela Koffler, Paul Giamatti, Paul King, Paul Laverty, Paul Mescal, Pete Czernin, Peter Sohn, Phil Lord, Phoebe Dynevor, Rachel Cohen, Raney Aronson-Rath, Rebecca Lloyd-Evans, Rebecca O’Brien, Robert Downey Jr., Rosamund Pike, Ryan Gosling, Sam Fell, Sandra Hermida, Sandra Hüller, Sarah Harvey, Savanah Leaf, Shirley O’Connor, Simon Farnaby, Simon Halfon, Sophie Wilde, Steve Pegram, Sue Mi Terry, Teo Yoo, Theo Barrowclough, Tom Melia, Vivian Oparah, Yorgos Lanthimos, Yvonne Isimeme Ibazebo.

Presenters confirmed to date include (in alphabetical order)

Adjoa Andoh, Andrew Scott, Bryce Dallas Howard, Callum Turner, Cate Blanchett, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Daisy Edgar Jones, Daryl McCormack, David Beckham, Deepika Padukone, Dua Lipa, Emma Corrin, Gillian Anderson, Himesh Patel, Hugh Grant, Idris Elba, Indira Varma, James Martin, Jack O’Connell, Keegan-Michael Key, Kingsley Ben-Adir, Lily Collins, Marisa Abela, Rebecca Ferguson, Sheila Atim, Taylor Russell.

Special Award Recipients:

This year’s BAFTA Fellowship will be presented to award-winning British actor, writer and director Samantha Morton. It is the arts charity’s highest accolade bestowed by BAFTA in recognition of an outstanding and exceptional contribution to film, games or television. As previously announced here.

BAFTA’s Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema will be presented to June Givanni, the pioneering film curator, writer and programmer of African and African diaspora cinema, and founder of The June Givanni PanAfrican Archive. 

Performers & Hosts

Also announced today, British actress and television star Hannah Waddingham will deliver an exclusive music performance. Sophie Ellis-Bextor will also perform her iconic hit, Murder on the Dancefloor as featured in nominated film Saltburn.

The 2024 EE BAFTA Film Awards ceremony will be hosted by David Tennant at Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall, offering audiences at home an unmissable night of entertainment.  

The legendary red carpet will be hosted by Clara Amfo and Alex Zane, LIVE on BAFTA’s social channels YouTubeX and Facebook, and Zainab Jiwa will be live from the red carpet exclusively on BAFTA’s TikTok channel from 15.00-16:00 GMT, giving audiences exclusive access to all the arrivals #EEBAFTAs. 

Sophie Ellis-Bextor to perform iconic hit “Murder on the Dancefloor” from Saltburn at the 2024 EE BAFTA Film Awards.

British singer-songwriter Sophie Ellis-Bextor will perform at the 2024 EE BAFTA Film AwardsBritain’s biggest film night to air on Sunday 18 February 2024 on BBC One and iPlayer and Britbox International.

London –  BAFTA today announces that iconic British singer-songwriter Sophie Ellis-Bextor, will perform her 2001 smash-hit “Murder on the Dancefloor” at the 2024 EE BAFTA Film Awards.

“Murder on the Dancefloor” as featured in British film Saltburn written, directed and produced by Emerald Fennell became one of the most talked about moments in cinema this year and a viral sensation, taking the song back into the international music charts 22 years after the first release of the song.

The pop dancefloor classic has seen a huge resurgence – old and new fans are streaming the track which is being used as a trending audio for millions of videos on Instagram and TikTok, and continues to mark new achievements on Spotify, YouTube and TikTok globally alongside newfound success in America, where it entered the Billboard Top 100 for the first time and continues to climb.

The UK’S biggest night in film hosted by David Tennant takes place at Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall on 18 February where Sophie Ellis-Bextor will take to the stage to perform live during the ceremony. Offering audiences at home an unmissable night of entertainment the 2024 EE BAFTA Film Awards will broadcast on BBC One, and iPlayer, and on BritBox International in USA, Canada, Denmark, Finland, Sweden, Norway and South Africa, as well as BBC Australia and Britbox in Australia, NOVA Bulgaria, NOVA Greece, Turner Spain, and Canal Plus. With more territories to be confirmed. 

Other musical acts, to be announced.

Follow the action via #EEBAFTAs.


BAFTA – the British Academy of Film and Television Arts – is a world-leading independent arts charity that brings the very best work in film, games and television to public attention and supports the growth of creative talent in the UK and internationally. Through its Awards ceremonies and year-round programme of learning events and initiatives – which includes workshops, masterclasses, scholarships, lectures and mentoring schemes in the UK, USA and Asia – BAFTA identifies and celebrates excellence, discovers, inspires and nurtures new talent, and enables learning and creative collaboration. For more, visit www.bafta.org. BAFTA is a registered charity (no. 216726).