Tag Archives: hosted by Rob Beckett and Romesh Ranganathan

BAFTA Television Craft Awards 2023: Winners Announced.

House of The Dragon and This is Going to Hurt win three BAFTAs each, The State Funeral of HM Queen Elizabeth II wins two BAFTAs, Alison Barnett receives BAFTA Special Award.

London, Sunday 23 April 2023: BAFTA has announced the winners of the BAFTA Television Craft Awards 2023 at a ceremony in London.  Celebrating the very best behind-the-scenes television talent of 2022, the ceremony was hosted by Mel Giedroyc, and featured a host of top TV talent as guest presenters including: Adil Ray, Adrian Lester, Charlene White, Clara Amfo, Cristo Fernandez, Dino Fetscher, George Webster, Kola Bokinni, Lisa Hammond, Lolly Adefope, Melissa Johns, Rachel Parris, Sacha Dhawan, Therica Wilson-Read and Tracy Ifeachor.

House of the Dragon, the prequel to Game of Thrones, was successful in three categories: Amanda Knight, Barrie Gower and Rosalia Culora for Make-Up & Hair Design; Alastair Sirkett, Doug Cooper, Martin Seeley, Paula Fairfield, Tim Hands and Adele Fletcher for Sound: Fiction; and Angus Bickerton, Nikeah Forde, Asa Shoul, Mike Dawson, MPC and Pixomodo for Special, Visual & Graphic Effects.

This is Going to Hurt won in three categories: first-time winner Adam Kay won a  BAFTA for Writer: Drama, for the series based upon his memoir as a junior doctor; Selina MacArthur, also a first-time winner, won for Editing Fiction; and Nina Gold and Martin Ware wonfor Scripted Casting.

The State Funeral of HM Queen Elizabeth II won in two categories: Peter Bridges, Matthew Charles, Conrad Fletcher, Julian Gough, Andy James and Andy Payne for Sound: Factual; and Directing Team for Director: Multi-Camera.

BAFTA continues to shine a spotlight on the very best emerging talent in the industry. The Emerging Talent: Fiction award went to writer Pete Jackson for Somewhere Boy, and Emerging Talent: Factual saw producer/director Charlie Melville win for John & Joe Bishop: Life After Deaf.

Other first-time BAFTA winners were: Felicity MorrisDirector: Factual for The Tindler Swindler; William Stefan SmithDirector: Fiction for Top BoyLisa McGeeWriter: Comedy for Derry Girls; Jane Petrie, Costume Design for The Essex Serpent; Jessica JonesOriginal Music: Factual for Jimmy Savile: A British Horror Story;  Nicôle Lecky, Bryan Senti, Kwame ‘KZ’ Kwei-Armah JROriginal Music: Fiction for MoodChas AppetiPhotography & Lighting: Fiction for Jungle; and Becky Sloan and Joe PellingProduction Design for Don’t Hug Me I’m Scared.

Editing: Factual was won by Rupert Houseman for Chernobyl: The Lost TapesEntertainment Craft Team was won by Catherine Land, David Bishop, Patrick Doherty, Richard Sillitto, David Newton and Joe Phillips for Strictly Come Dancing; Photography: Factual was won by Marcel Mettelsiefen and Jordan Bryon for Children of the Taliban and Peter Anderson Studio won Titles and Graphic Identity for Bad Sisters.

The Television Craft Special Award was presented by Adrian Lester to Alison Barnett in recognition of her pioneering role as one of the very first female Heads of Production in the UK television industry. Alison Barnett is the first Head of Production to receive a BAFTA honorary award.

Highlights of the BAFTA TV Craft Awards will be shared via @BAFTA social channels on YouTube and Twitter #BAFTACraftAwards.

The BAFTA Television Craft Awards is supported by its official partners Mad Dog 2020 Casting, 3 Mills Studios, Hotcam, Microsoft, Sara Putt Associates, ScreenSkills High-end Television Skills Fund and Spotlight.

The BAFTA Television Awards with P&O Cruises, hosted by Rob Beckett and Romesh Ranganathan, will take place on Sunday 14 May and will be broadcast at 7pm on BBC One and iPlayer.